Names of new cardinals released by Pope Francis

R RLast Updated: August 27th, 2021Church News, Pope Francis, World News

(CNA/EWTN News by Elise Harris)  In his Sunday Angelus address Pope Francis announced the names of the 15 bishops to be created cardinals in February, many of whom hail from small dioceses which have never before had a cardinal.

Speaking to the thousands of pilgrims present in St. Peter’s Square after his recitation of the traditional Marian prayer, the Pope revealed that the 15 new cardinals to be created come from 14 countries and from every continent.

Among the new cardinals under the age of 80 and therefore eligible to vote in the next conclave are five European bishops, three from the continent of Asia, three from Latin America, including Mexico, two from Africa and two from Oceania.

Cape Verde, Myanmar and Tonga are three of the countries represented by the new cardinals. Characterized by small ecclesial communities or as representing a minority presence, none of the dioceses has had a cardinal until now.


The names of the new cardinals coming from Europe are:

Archbishop Dominique Mamberti, Prefect of the Supreme Tribunal of the Apostolic Signatura

Archbishop Edoardo Menichelli of Ancona-Osimo (Italy)

Archbishop Francesco Montenegro of Agrigento (Italy)

Archbishop Ricardo Blázquez Pérez of Vallodolid (Spain)

Archbishiop Manuel José Macario do Nascimento Clemente, Patriarch of Lisbon (Portugal)

New cardinals representing Latin America and Mexico are:

Archbishop Alberto Suàrez Inda of Morelia (Mexico)

Archbishop Daniel Fernando Sturla Berhouet, S.D.B., of Montevideo (Uruguay)

Bishop José Luis Lacunza Maestrojuán, O.A.R., of David (Panamá)

Others, including from Africa and Asia, are:

Archbishop Berhaneyesus Demerew Souraphiel, C.M., of Addis Abeba (Ethiopia)

Archbishop Pierre Nguyên Van Nhon of Hà Nôi (Viêt Nam)

Archbishop Charles Maung Bo, S.D.B., of Yangon (Myanmar)

Archbishop Francis Xavier Kriengsak Kovithavanij of Bangkok (Thailand)

Bishop Arlindo Gomes Furtado, of Santiago de Cabo Verde (Archipelago of Cape Verde)

Bishop Soane Patita Paini Mafi of Tonga (Island of Tonga)

Archbishop John Atcherley Dew of Wellington (New Zealand)

In addition to the 15 cardinal electors, Pope Francis named 5 other bishops over the age of 80 who will be elevated due to their “pastoral charity in the service of the Holy See and of the Church.”

The names of the new non-elector cardinals are:

José de Jesús Pimiento Rodriguez, Archbishop Emeritus of Manizales (Colombia)

Archbishop Luigi De Magistris, Major Pro-Penitentiary Emeritus (Italy)

Archbishop Karl-Joseph Rauber, Apostolic Nuncio (Germany); Luis Héctor Villaba, Archbishop Emeritus of Tucumán (Argentina)

Júlio Duarte Langa, Bishop Emeritus of Xai-Xai (Mozambique)


WSJ- Distribution of Cardinals worldwide

Click here to read more and/or to read article in original formatting.

(Original has been edited and re-formatted.)